Use this iPhone setting to prevent advertisements from following you on the internet

You can prevent apps from following you on the internet, so you should see fewer ads following you.

Patrick Hollande / CNET

We’ve all had the frightening experience where a moment of curiosity about buying shoes turns into weeks of advertisements for those same shoes on every site you visit. Fortunately, a feature on your iPhone in iOS 14.5 and subsequent updates can enhance your online privacy by giving you the option to turn off ad tracking in the apps you use. (You can also check out all the new features in the latest iOS 15 Release.)

The transparency feature of app tracking arrived with the April iOS 14.5 update. Unless you give an app explicit permission (including those created by Apple), it cannot use your data for targeted advertising, share your location data with advertisers, or share your advertising ID or any other ID. with third parties. This change, first unveiled at Apple Global Developer Conference in June 2020 – received support from privacy advocates and critics from companies such as Facebook, who says he will harm its advertising activity.

The move comes along with other efforts by Apple to increase transparency and privacy, which CEO Tim Cook called a “fundamental human right” in April. With the release of iOS 14.3 in December, users began to see the app “nutritional labels“informing them of the data requested by an application before downloading it from the App Store.

Here’s how to use the new Application Tracking Transparency feature to control which apps can track you.

How to turn off app tracking on new apps

When you download and open a new app, you’ll receive a notification asking if you want to allow the app to track your activity on other companies’ apps and websites. You will also see information on what the app would track. You can press Ask the app not to follow block this activity or To allow.

att

When you download an app, you will see a notification appear allowing you to choose whether or not you want to allow the app to follow you.

Apple

You can also turn off app tracking for each app you download by going to Settings> Privacy> Tracking, and deactivate Allow apps to request tracking. This means that any app that tries to ask for your permission will be automatically blocked and notified that you have requested not to be tracked. And any apps (other than the ones you’ve been allowed to follow in the past) won’t be able to access your device’s information used for advertising purposes, according to Apple.

It is important to note that this does not mean that the ads will go away. It just means you’ll be more likely to see generic ads, not one for that pair of shoes you clicked once.

How to turn off app tracking on already downloaded apps

For apps that you’ve already downloaded and have tracking permissions set up for, you can still turn those permissions on or off for each app.

technical-advice-logo-badge.png

Brett Pearce / CNET

Under Settings, tap an app, and then tap to deactivate Allow tracking. Or go to Settings> Privacy> Tracking, and tap to enable or disable each app you will see in the list of apps that have requested permission to track your activity.

All app developers are required to request tracking permission. If Apple learns that a developer is following users who have requested not to be followed, they will either have to update their app or possibly be rejected by the App Store.

Apple believes privacy features like these are a differentiator for their products. Cook said that because the company’s business model is not built on selling ads, he can focus on confidentiality.

For more information, see browser privacy settings that you must change immediately, and CNET’s choices for the best VPNs of 2021.


Source link

Comments are closed.